The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

Ministerial responsibilities within the Treasury portfolio

The Treasurer has overall responsibility for all of the policy matters falling within the Treasury portfolio. These include:

  • Economic, fiscal and monetary policy
  • Taxation
  • Borrowing money on the public credit of the Commonwealth
  • International finance
  • Foreign exchange
  • Financial sector policy
  • Currency and legal tender
  • Foreign investment in Australia
  • Superannuation and retirement savings policy
  • Business law and practice
  • Corporate, financial services and securities law
  • Corporate insolvency
  • Competition and consumer policy
  • Prices surveillance
  • Excise
  • Census and statistics
  • Valuation services
  • Commonwealth-State financial relations
  • Consumer credit; and
  • Housing supply policy.