The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Joe Hockey

Joe Hockey

The Minister for Financial Services and Regulation

21 October 1998 - 26 November 2001

Media Release of 11/08/00

NO. FSR/042

Children to Design Commemorative Coins

The Minister for Financial Services and Regulation, Joe Hockey, announced today that the Royal Australian Mint will hold a competition for designs of nine 20 cent coins for all Australia's States and Territories to commemorate the Centenary of Federation.

"The competition will showcase the talents of Australian school age designers and artists on a topic that will present considerable challenges," the Minister said. "The Centenary of Federation in 2001 is an opportunity for celebration for all Australians and presents a unique opportunity for Australian school pupils and students to use their talents and leave their design forever on the coinage of the nation."


The Royal Australian Mint has designed an extensive commemorative coin program for 2001 to celebrate the Centenary of Federation and is seeking designs from school pupils and students for a commemorative coin from each State and Territory.

Primary and secondary schools Australia wide are being invited to participate in the competition for the design of a 20 cent coin that is unique to their State or Territory and which expresses its role in the Commonwealth of Australia.

The nine successful student State and Territory 20 cent coin designs will be issued as circulating coinage throughout 2001. Collector coin versions of all the nine 20 cent coins will later be made available with proof and uncirculated finishes.

This will be only the second time that a commemorative 20 cent coin has been issued, the first being the United Nations design released in 1995.

Entries will be judged based on their artistic merit, commemorative appropriateness and suitability for minting. The winning entries from each State and Territory will be awarded $5000 in prize money and up to two runner up prizes may be also awarded.

Where awarded, the two runners up will receive $1000. These prizes will be donated to the schools from which the winning entries come.

The competition closes at 5pm on 27 October 2000.

The winners will be announced as follows:

New South Wales: 10 Jan 01
Queensland: 15 Feb 01
Norfolk Island: 3 Mar 01
South Australia: 22 Mar 01
Tasmania: 31 Mar 01
Australian Capital Territory: 1 Feb 01
Victoria: 28 Feb 01
Northern Territory: 15 Mar 01
Western Australia: 29 Mar 01

More information:

The Design Brief describing the requirements is available by calling the Royal Australian Mint’s Call Centre on: 1300 362 862 or by visiting

11 August 2000

Media contacts:
Len Snell, Royal Australian Mint, 02 6202 6898, facsimile (02) 6202 6925.
Matthew Abbott, Minister's office, 0413 07 62 13.