The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Chris Pearce

Chris Pearce

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer

26 October 2004 - 3 December 2007

Media Release of 10/06/2005



The Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer, the Hon Chris Pearce, MP, today announced the reappointment of Mr Graham McDonald as Chairman of the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal.

“Mr McDonald will continue to ensure the Tribunal fulfils its mediation and settlement role effectively,” Mr Pearce said.

“I am pleased to have Mr McDonald continue as Chairman of the Tribunal during this important time for Australia’s superannuation system.”

Mr McDonald has been reappointed for a further 18 months until 14 December 2006. Mr McDonald was first appointed Chairman of the Tribunal on 14 March 2000 and then again on 14 June 2003.

Mr McDonald has a legal and public policy background. He has experience as a solicitor, barrister, Commissioner of Corporate Affairs, presidential member of the Federal Administrative Appeals Tribunal, and as Australia’s inaugural Banking Industry Ombudsman.

The Tribunal is an independent dispute resolution body that deals with certain complaints about superannuation funds, annuities and deferred annuities, and retirement savings accounts. It does this through conciliation to try to resolve complaints but where this is not possible, by formal review of decision(s) or conduct to which the complaint relates.

Further information on the Tribunal is available at

Contact: Gillian Harvey (03) 9887 3890

10 June 2005