The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

16 April 2008


Reappointment of Mr Gary Banks AO as
Chairman and Commissioner of the Productivity Commission

I am pleased to announce the reappointment of Mr Gary Banks as Chairman and Commissioner of the Productivity Commission from 20 May 2008 up to and including 19 May 2013.

Mr Banks has been Chairman of the Commission since it was established as an amalgamation of the Industry Commission, Economic Planning Advisory Commission and Bureau of Industry Economics in 1998. In addition to his role as Chief Executive, overseeing the Commission's activities, Mr Banks has personally headed national inquiries on a variety of important public policy issues, most notably, the Australian Government's Taskforce on Reducing the Regulatory Burden on Business.

Under Mr Banks' stewardship, the Commission has become a vital, independent source of advice to government on policy reforms needed to underpin Australia's long-term prosperity, and I warmly congratulate both Mr Banks and the Commission for their achievements. The Productivity Commission is a key advisory body on all aspects of microeconomic reform and regulation, and its analysis covers all levels of government and all sectors of the economy.

16 April 2008