The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Nick Sherry

Nick Sherry

Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law

3 December 2007 - 8 June 2009

Media Release of 26/01/2009


Minister Announces New Citizenship Coin for Australia Day

Senator Nick Sherry, Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law and The Royal Australian Mint, has announced that the nation's newest citizens affirmed in Canberra on Australia Day will receive a special new citizenship anniversary coin.

"It is a fitting day to congratulate new citizens with a collectible coin which marks the 60th Anniversary of Australian Citizenship."

"In releasing this coin, the Government and the Royal Australian Mint acknowledge the importance of Australian citizenship and the more than four million people who have taken part in the affirmation ceremony."

"Citizenship promotes a sense of belonging, a chance to make a commitment to Australia and its values and to share the role of building Australia and its future," Minister Sherry said.

In 1948, the Australian Citizenship Act came into effect.

"The Mint has a proud history of producing coins with themes that mark anniversaries, events and milestones in Australian history. Our citizenship coin carries on this tradition, enabling all Australians to hold a piece of history in their very own hands," said Graham Smith, Acting Chief Executive, Royal Australian Mint.

The 2009 uncirculated $1 citizenship coin design features the smiling faces of Australian citizens, each as individual as the country they originate from. When put together, the pieces of the puzzle behind the smiling faces build a map of Australia, symbolic of individuals coming together, building Australia and its future.

For more information or images of the 60th Anniversary of Australian Citizenship coin please visit or call 1300 652 020.

26 January 2009