The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

27 February 2009


Inaugural Winners of the Community Treasurers' Awards

Today I am delighted to announce the inaugural winners of the Westpac Community Treasurers' Awards. The awards were launched in July 2008.

Prior to the establishment of these awards, the unpaid work of honorary treasurers in our community groups and in the wider Australian community frequently went unrecognised.

Without their hard work, our community groups wouldn't be able to enrich the lives of so many Australians.

The outstanding efforts of our community treasurers – especially keeping the books – mean volunteers at local sports and community clubs can get on with what they love doing.

The Westpac Community Treasurers' Awards recognise excellence in the work of some of our community heroes. Each winning treasurer receives $5,000 for their organisation.

I congratulate the following 2009 winners:

  • Best Honorary Treasurer in a large community organisation with an annual income of more than $250,000: Heather Thompson, Grange Surf Lifesaving Club, South Australia.
  • Best Honorary Treasurer in a middle sized community organisation with an annual income of $10,000-$250,000: Kim McConnochie, Wollongong Australian Football Club, New South Wales.
  • Best Honorary Treasurer in a small community organisation with an annual income of less than $10,000: Rebecca Thompson, Avenel Preschool, Victoria.

I congratulate all Australians who work hard to support their local community groups, and in particular, their hard working community treasurers.

If you know of any honorary treasurer making an outstanding contribution in their community, I encourage you to nominate them for the 2010 awards later this year.

27 February 2009