The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Nick Sherry

Nick Sherry

Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law

3 December 2007 - 8 June 2009

Media Release of 30/04/2009


Re-Appointment of Members to the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal

Senator Nick Sherry, Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law, is pleased to announce the reappointment of five part-time members to the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal (SCT).

"These reappointments will maintain the high level of skills and experience available to the SCT, and ensure the SCT has appropriately qualified members to deal with the differing issues which may arise in this important area," Minister Sherry said.

Ross Christie, Colin Grenfell, Dr Carolyn Re, Katy Adams and Ella de Rooy have each been appointed for a further three years.

The SCT was established by the Superannuation (Resolution of Complaints) Act 1993.

It provides a fast, low-cost and informal alternative to the courts for the resolution of certain superannuation complaints.

If complaints cannot be resolved by conciliation, the SCT may review the decisions or conduct to which the complaints relate.

The SCT consists of a Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and, currently, 19 part-time members (the minimum is seven). Part-time members help to hear complaints. They are appointed by the Minister and generally come from actuarial, legal, medical and/or superannuation backgrounds.

30 April, 2009