The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Nick Sherry

Nick Sherry

Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law

3 December 2007 - 8 June 2009

Media Release of 05/06/2009


Full-Time Superannuation Complaints Tribunal Chair Appointed

Senator Nick Sherry, Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Law, is pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Jocelyn Furlan as the full-time Chair of the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal (Tribunal) for a five-year period.

The Tribunal, established by the Superannuation (Resolution of Complaints) Act 1993 (SCT Act), provides a fast, low-cost and informal alternative to the courts for the resolution of certain superannuation complaints.

"Ms Furlan will continue to ensure the Tribunal fulfils its mediation and settlement role in the important area of superannuation," Minister Sherry said.

"I am very pleased that Ms Furlan will continue in her work as Chair of the Tribunal during this significant time for Australia's superannuation industry."

Ms Furlan is a superannuation lawyer with more than 20 years industry experience. She has been the acting SCT Tribunal Chair since September 2007. Ms Furlan was appointed the Deputy Chair of the Tribunal in March 2006. Prior to this she was the Compliance Manager of the Legal Industry Superannuation Scheme, known as LegalSuper. Previously, Ms Furlan was Executive Manager, Corporate of the Victorian Superannuation Board and its predecessor the State Superannuation Board, Company Secretary of VicSuper Pty Ltd and Secretary to the Victorian Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Fund. She is a graduate in law and commerce from the University of Melbourne.

The Chair is the Tribunal's executive officer and is responsible for its overall operation and administration. Further information on the Tribunal is available at

5 June 2009