The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

22 July 2009


Board of Taxation Appointments

I am pleased to announce the following reappointments to the Board of Taxation:

  • Mr Chris Jordan AO as Deputy Chairman and member from 21 July 2009 to 30 June 2011; and
  • Mr John Emerson AM as a member also from 21 July 2009 to 30 June 2011.

I am also pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Annabelle Chaplain as a member of the Board from 21 July 2009 to 30 June 2011.

Mr Jordan is Chairman of KPMG for New South Wales. He has been a member of the Board of Taxation since its inception in September 2000 and Deputy Chairman since January 2005.

Mr Emerson is the Freehills Melbourne Office Pro Bono Partner and a member of a number of legal and public sector committees active in the charity tax and pro bono areas. He has been a member of the Board since January 2007.

Ms Chaplain is Chairman of the Queensland Bulk Water Supply Authority. She is also the Chairman of Honeycombes Property Group, director of Canstar Cannex Pty Ltd and director of Downer EDi Ltd. Ms Chaplain's experience as a senior investment banker and company director will bring valuable commercial perspective to the work of the Board.

I congratulate Ms Chaplain on her appointment.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory body established to advise the Government on the development and implementation of taxation legislation and the ongoing operation of the tax system.

22 July 2009