The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

23 December 2009


Government Receives the Australia's Future Tax System Review

Today I received the report of the Australia's Future Tax System review team.

The report will provide the foundations for a long-term plan for reform, to make our tax and transfer systems fairer, simpler and more competitive.

I take this opportunity to thank the five eminent members of the review panel; Ken Henry, Jeff Harmer, John Piggott, Heather Ridout and Greg Smith, as well as the dedicated review secretariat in the Treasury who supported them.

I would also like to thank the community for their extensive contribution to the development of the report.

The community provided around 1,500 formal submissions and over 4,700 letters to the review team and participated in discussion forums held right around the country.

As I have been saying for some time, the Government will consider the review and release it in early 2010, along with an initial response.

The Government will not be engaging in speculation about the contents of the report before that time.

23 December 2009