The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

30 April 2010


Board of Taxation Appointments

I am pleased to announce the following reappointments to the Board of Taxation:

  • Mr Richard (Dick) Warburton AO as Chairman and member from 15 April 2010 to 30 June 2012; and
  • Mr Keith James and Mr Curt Rendall as members from 15 April 2010 to 30 June 2012.

I am also pleased to announce the appointment of Ms Elizabeth Jameson as a member of the Board from 15 April 2010 to 30 June 2012.

Mr Warburton is currently Chairman of Tandou Ltd, Magellan Flagship Fund Ltd, the LEK Advisory Board and the Commonwealth Studies Conference. He is also a director of Citigroup Ltd. He has been Chairman of the Board of Taxation since its inception in September 2000.

Mr James is a Partner at Hall & Wilcox Lawyers. He is a key figure in the tax advisory profession and previously has been Victorian President, and Chairman of the Taxation Centre of Excellence, for CPA Australia. He has been a member of the Board since March 2004.

Mr Rendall is currently the Senior Partner of Rendall Kelly Chartered Accountants, as well as being a member of the Standard Business Reporting Board. He previously has been Chairman of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Small and Medium Enterprises Committee as well as a Member of the Small Business Development Corporation of New South Wales. He has been a member of the Board since January 2005.

Ms Jameson is the Managing Director and Principal Consultant for Board Matters Pty Ltd, a governance advisory and education services consultancy for governing bodies of organisations and enterprises. She is also a consultant to national law firm, DLA Phillips Fox.

I congratulate Ms Jameson on her appointment.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory body established to advise the Government on the development and implementation of taxation legislation and the ongoing operation of the tax system.

30 April 2010