The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

1 July 2010


Appointment of Chairperson to the Commonwealth Grants Commission

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Alan Henderson AM as the Chairperson of the Commonwealth Grants Commission (CGC) for a five-year period from 1 July 2010.

Mr Henderson has held a range of senior positions in the departments of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Treasury and Defence and has significant experience in Commonwealth-State relations.

In 2010, he was appointed a Member in the Order of Australia for his continued service to public administration, particularly in the area of policy formulation and advice and management of taskforces.

The CGC is an independent statutory authority whose role is to provide advice to the Australian Government, including in relation to the allocation of Goods and Services Tax revenue among the States and Territories.

The Commission has a Chairperson and four members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis.

1 July 2010