The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

18 November 2010


Reappointment of Mr Roger Corbett AO
to the Reserve Bank of Australia Board

I am pleased to announce the reappointment of Mr Roger Corbett AO as a member of the Reserve Bank of Australia Board (RBA Board) for a further five-year period commencing 2 December.

Mr Corbett has been a member of the RBA Board since 2005, and this will be his second term. He is the chairman of a number of boards including:

  • Fairfax Media Limited;
  • the Salvation Army Advisory Board;
  • the Council of the Executive of Shore School; and
  • Sydney Children's Hospital Network Advisory Board (Randwick & Westmead).

He is also a board member of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., Deputy Chairman of PrimeAg Limited and President of Sydney Medical School Foundation, University of Sydney.

Mr Corbett has made a valuable contribution to the deliberations of the RBA Board over the past five years. His extensive knowledge of the retail sector, both within Australia and overseas, has been and will continue to be of considerable benefit to the Board's monetary policy discussions.

This reappointment is made in accordance with section 14 of the Reserve Bank Act 1959 which provides for nine Board members including the Governor, the Deputy Governor, the Secretary to the Treasury and six other members.

I take this opportunity to congratulate Mr Corbett on his reappointment.

18 November 2010