The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

22 November 2010


Payments System Board - Appointment of Brian Wilson

I am pleased to announce the appointment of Brian Wilson as a member of the Payments System Board for a five-year period.

Mr Wilson will be a valuable addition to the board and brings considerable knowledge from across the financial sector. He has worked for over 30 years in investment banking and has experience in funds management.

Mr Wilson is currently Pro-Chancellor of the University of Technology, Sydney and a non-executive director of Bell Financial Group. He is also a member of the Foreign Investment Review Board and was a member of the Government's Review of Australia's Superannuation System.

The Payments System Board was established on 1 July 1998 as a board of the Reserve Bank of Australia. It determines the Reserve Bank's payments system policy and is responsible for the stability of, and competition and efficiency within, the payments system.

The Reserve Bank Act 1959 provides for up to eight members of the Payments System Board including the Governor and one other representative of the Reserve Bank, one representative from the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority and up to five independent members.

I take this opportunity to congratulate Mr Wilson on his appointment.

The other members of the Payments System Board are: Glenn Stevens (Chairman), Malcolm Edey (Deputy Chairman), John Laker AO (APRA Member), Joseph Gersh AM, Robert McLean and Catherine Walter AM.

22 November 2010