The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

18 January 2011


New Business Taskforce to Support Queensland
Communities Hit by Flooding

As everyday Australians show their compassion and determination by pulling together to help Queenslanders affected by the devastating floods, Australian businesses have answered the call as well.

The Prime Minister today announced the Australian Government will immediately establish a Business Taskforce to support Queenslanders in the immediate recovery effort.

The Business Taskforce will bring together ten Australian business leaders from a range of industries to mobilise business efforts across Australia.

The focus will be on:

  • Leveraging corporate donations of dollars
  • Helping drive and coordinate in-kind donations
  • Using Australia's best business expertise to help with business recovery and rebuilding efforts in Queensland.

The Taskforce will be chaired by the Federal Treasurer and will meet with the Prime Minister for the first time next week.

The support pouring in from across Australia for people affected by the Queensland floods has been amazing – but Queensland is going to need much, much more in the coming months.

It is important to ensure that business support is marshaled effectively to ensure it gets to the areas and people who need it most, as well as to make sure that the resources being provided are useful and appropriate. 

The Taskforce will be established for three months initially, with its ongoing operation to be reviewed at that time.

The Taskforce will play no role in directing government funding or managing the government's response to the floods disaster. Instead, it will play the important role of helping to drive the involvement of a key sector of Australia in supporting Queensland at this difficult time.

Members of the Taskforce

Wayne Swan, Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer
Bill Shorten, Assistant Treasurer
Andrew Fraser, Queensland Treasurer
Graham Bradley, Business Council of Australia President
Brian Flannery, White Energy Chief Executive
Lindsay Fox, Linfox chairman
Wayne Goss, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Chairman
Jock Laurie, National Farmers Federation President
Catherine Livingstone, Telstra, Macquarie Bank, WorleyParsons director
Michael Luscombe, Woolworths CEO
David Michaelis, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry President
Heather Ridout, Australian Industry Group CEO
David Stewart, Leighton Holdings Ltd CEO

18 January 2011