The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

24 February 2011


Joint Media Release
The Hon Bill Shorten MP
Assistant Treasurer

Retirement of Chair of the Board of Taxation

Richard Warburton will retire as Chair of the Board of Taxation effective 28 February 2011.

Treasurer Wayne Swan and Assistant Treasurer Bill Shorten today thanked Mr Warburton for his tremendous service as Chair since the Board was established in September 2000.

Under Mr Warburton, the Board has grown to become an important participant in Australia's tax system, helping contribute a business and broader community perspective into the design and operation of taxation laws.

It is a measure of the Board's success that the overwhelming majority of its recommendations have not only found favour with the business community, but have also been accepted and implemented by successive governments.

Mr Warburton has left the Board in a strong position to maintain and strengthen its vital role.

Chris Jordan, the current deputy chair, will assume the role of Acting Chair, pending Cabinet's consideration of a permanent appointment.

The Board is a non-statutory body established to advise the Government on the development and implementation of taxation legislation, and the ongoing operation of the tax system.

24 February 2011