The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

23 January 2012

Further appointments to the Energy Security Council

I am pleased to announce today the appointment of Mr Ross Bunyon AM, Ms Nancy Fox, Mr Stephen Parbery and Mr Michael Perry to the Energy Security Council.

The Government announced the establishment of the Energy Security Council as part of the Clean Energy Future package to advise on possible support measures to address energy security risks. The appointments announced today will bring a broad range of relevant expertise to the Council.

Mr Bunyon has extensive experience in the electricity sector, including as chairman of Eraring Energy from 2000 to 2010 and as a director of Pacific Power from 1996 to 2000.

Ms Fox has 30 years of financial services and insurance experience within Australia and the Asia-Pacific region. She brings debt and structured finance experience arising from transactions for financial institutions, infrastructure projects and utilities.

Mr Parbery is a founding partner and board director of PPB Advisory (which provides insolvency services, and restructuring and other advice) and is a chartered accountant and registered liquidator.

Mr Perry has extensive experience in investment banking in Australia and overseas. He has been involved in a wide range of private infrastructure projects, including in energy.

On 12 October 2011 the Government announced that it had appointed Dr Michael Vertigan AC as chair of the Energy Security Council. Membership of the Council also includes the chairs of the Australian Energy Market Commission, the Australian Energy Regulator and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.