The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of David Bradbury

David Bradbury

Assistant Treasurer, Minister Assisting for Financial Services & Superannuation and Minister for Competition Policy & Consumer Affairs

5 March 2012 - 18 September 2013

Media Release of 23/03/2012


Government Nominates Delia Rickard as a Full-Time Deputy Chairperson of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

Long time consumer policy advocate Delia Rickard has been nominated to become a Deputy Chairperson of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), said Assistant Treasurer, David Bradbury.

Pending approval from the States and Territories, Ms Rickard's nomination for the role will ensure that the ACCC has a Commissioner with experience and expertise in consumer protection.

"I have written today to the State Premiers and Territory Chief Ministers nominating Delia Rickard to serve as a Deputy Chairperson of the ACCC," said Mr Bradbury.

"Ms Rickard has an outstanding record in consumer protection and consumer policy advocacy and will bring a wealth of skills and experience to the ACCC."

As a Senior Executive at the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), Ms Rickard has been instrumental in developing the MoneySmart financial literacy program and has led ASIC's consumer protection work, particularly in the area of vulnerable and disadvantaged consumers. She has also previously served as head of the Consumer Protection Branch at the ACCC and as a member of the Secretariat to the Wallis Inquiry. Ms Rickard also led ASIC's role in the implementation of Super Choice and was the founding chair of ASIC's Corporate Social Responsibility program.

Ms Rickard's nomination follows the departure of the former Deputy Chairperson, Mr Peter Kell, who left his role to take up a position as a Commissioner of ASIC.

If the majority of States and Territories support Ms Rickard's nomination, it is the Government's intention to recommend to the Governor-General that Ms Rickard be appointed for a five year period.

23 March 2012