The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

6 May 2012

New flood victims exempt from flood levy

As a Queenslander, my heart goes out to those whose lives have been devastated thanks to Mother Nature in recent years.

We've seen lives lost, livelihoods shattered, and homes devastated. It's been a really tough time that's caused a lot of hardship to Queenslanders.

The Gillard Government is funding around 75 per cent, or over $6 billion worth, of the Queensland disaster reconstruction bill.

In 2011, we announced that a modest, temporary flood levy would be put in place to help rebuild Queensland. All Australians with an income over $50,000 pitched in to help Queensland get back on its feet, which has helped make a real difference to many regions throughout the state.

Of course, those affected by the disasters in 2011 were made exempt from the levy.

Earlier this year, more flooding devastated parts of western Queensland and northern New South Wales.

I can announce today that those people who suffered flood damage in 2012 will also be made exempt from the levy.

The Gillard Government understands the hardship those affected have faced, and we want to assist in any way we can through what is already an incredibly difficult recovery process.

Based on those eligible for an Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment (AGDRP), it's expected that over 45,000 recipients will potentially benefit from the exemption.

The temporary flood levy is in place for the 2011-12 financial year only.

Further information on which areas are AGDRP declared or NDRRA affected can be found on the Disaster Assist website 

More information on the flood levy can be found on the Treasury website .