The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

5 June 2012

Nomination of Australian Alternate Director to the International Monetary Fund

The Australian Government will nominate Mr Ian Davidoff for appointment as an Alternate Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund for a two year term beginning 1 November 2012, following Cabinet agreement tonight.

Mr Davidoff will assist the Executive Director in representing a constituency of countries within the IMF comprising Australia, Kiribati, Korea, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan and Vanuatu.

Mr Davidoff is a highly accomplished and experienced adviser to the Australian Government with a strong background in economic, financial and international issues.

He has been the Director of Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister since 2009 and before that was Senior Economic Policy Adviser in the Office of the Treasurer. He has also been an official at the Australian Treasury and the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Mr Davidoff has a Masters in Public Policy from Harvard University, where he was a Frank Knox Fellow, and degrees from the University of Melbourne.

Executive Directors and Alternate Executive Directors are employees of the IMF and their salaries and other allowances are met by the Fund.

Korea will provide the Executive Director for the constituency from 1 November 2012 until 31 October 2014.  Historically the Australian Alternate Executive Director is then nominated for the Executive Director position when it rotates to Australia.