The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

30 July 2012

Nomination of Australian Executive Director to the Asian Development Bank

The Australian Government will nominate Mr Anthony Baker for appointment as an Executive Director at the Asian Development Bank for a three year term beginning in November 2012.

Mr Baker would replace Mr Phil Bowen who served in the position from April 2007 to July 2012.

If this nomination is accepted, Mr Baker will represent a constituency of countries within the ADB comprising Australia; Azerbaijan; Cambodia; Georgia; Hong Kong; Kiribati; the Federated States of Micronesia; Nauru; Palau; Solomon Islands; and Tuvalu. 

Directors are employees of the ADB and their salaries and allowances are met by the ADB. 

Mr Baker is a highly experienced Commonwealth public servant who has held various senior executive positions, including with the Departments of Prime Minister and Cabinet, Department of Housing and Department of Finance and Administration. 

Since 2007, Mr Baker has been the Chief of Staff for the current and former Australian Ministers for Finance and Deregulation.  Mr Baker has also held Senior Advisor positions with Access Economics and the Victorian Government.

Australia has been a member of the ADB since it was established in 1966 to assist the economic and social development of countries of the Asia and Pacific region.  Australia remains one of the most significant shareholders in the Bank and attaches considerable importance to its work within the region.