The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

14 September 2012

Retirement of Mr Gary Banks AO from the Productivity Commission

The Hon. David Bradbury MP
Assistant Treasurer
Minister Assisting for Deregulation

Mr Gary Banks AO has announced that he will retire from his position as Chair of the Productivity Commission in December.

The Government would like to thank Mr Banks for his many years of dedicated public service and commitment to the work of the Productivity Commission.

Mr Banks has demonstrated exceptional ability and leadership in heading up the Commission over the past 15 years, including overseeing the merging of the functions of the former Industry Commission, Bureau of Industry Economics and the Economic Planning Advisory Commission into one entity as the inaugural chair.

Under Mr Banks' capable guidance the Commission has grown to become a world-renowned institution and a leading example for independent policy advising based on sound evidence and evaluation.

Mr Banks has overseen a wide range of nationally-significant inquiries and been a guiding force behind many major microeconomic reforms in recent times; including the evaluation of the National Competition Policy reforms and recommending major changes to Australia's aged and disability care systems.

Mr Banks is currently co-chairing a joint study with the New Zealand Productivity Commission, Strengthening economic relations between Australia and New Zealand.

A merit-based selection process for this position will commence shortly.