The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

25 September 2012

First Jim Stynes scholarships to help young footballers chase their dreams

Joint media release with
Senator the Hon Kate Lundy
Minister Assisting for Industry and Innovation

The inaugural Jim Stynes scholarship recipients were announced overnight at the AFL's Brownlow Medal Awards Ceremony in Melbourne.

The Gillard Government is providing $3 million as part of a partnership with the AFL to establish the scholarship fund to help disadvantaged children chase their dreams and honour Jim Stynes' legacy.

The first 11 winners were chosen to honour Stynes' original guernsey number and represent the brightest young football talent from around Australia.

Jim Stynes' indomitable spirit refused to accept that disadvantage should stand in the way of opportunities for young people, and these young scholarship winners will help to carry on his legacy.

The winners were selected by a panel comprising the AFL, the Reach Foundation and Jim's wife, Sam Stynes. The 11 recipients will receive funding towards football, travel and education expenses so they can continue to develop their talents, gain confidence and realise their potential.

Each year the program will offer up to 37 scholarships of up to $20,000. As a partner in the program, the AFL will provide an annual contribution of $150,000 for the next five years to support the fund.

The first 11 successful recipients of the Jim Stynes Scholarship include:

  • Megan Allan (Millicent, South Australia)
  • Sarah Allan (Millicent, South Australia)
  • Jess Allan (Millicent, South Australia)
  • Tayla Bresland (Dunsborough, Western Australia)
  • Jarrod Pickett (Yangtebup, Western Australia)
  • Isaac Benjamin Heeney (Black Hill, New South Wales)
  • Bohdi Walker (Sale, Victoria)
  • Dwayne Wilson (Murray Bridge, South Australia)
  • Duom Dawan (Wyndhamvale, Victoria)
  • Jake Lever (Lancefield, Victoria)
  • Nakia Cockatoo (Darwin, Northern Territory)

The scholarships recognise Jim Stynes' contribution as an outstanding footballer, administrator, philanthropist, charity worker and writer.