The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of Wayne Swan

Wayne Swan

Deputy Prime Minister and Treasurer

3 December 2007 - 27 June 2013

12 November 2012

Appointment of Mr Chris Jordan AO as Commissioner of Taxation

Joint media release with
The Hon David Bradbury MP
Assistant Treasurer
Minister Assisting for Deregulation

The Government is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr Chris Jordan AO as Commissioner of Taxation.

Mr Jordan will be appointed for a seven-year period and will start in the position in January 2013.

Mr Jordan is currently Chair of the Board of Taxation. He has been a member of the Board of Taxation since its inception in September 2000, becoming Deputy Chair in January 2005 and then Chair in June 2011.

Mr Jordan is also currently Executive Chair of Chase Corporate Advisory, Chair of the Committee for Sydney and also serves as a board member of the Bell Shakespeare Company and the Sydney Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Mr Jordan was previously Chair of KPMG New South Wales and Partner in Charge of the New South Wales Tax and Legal Division of KPMG.  He also served as Chair of the Business Tax Working Group and Chair of the New Tax System Advisory Board.

Mr Jordan brings a broad range of experience, including industry and public policy experience under both Labor and Coalition Governments.

The Government congratulates Mr Jordan on his appointment.