The Crest of the Commonwealth of Australia Treasury Portfolio Ministers
Picture of David Bradbury

David Bradbury

Assistant Treasurer, Minister Assisting for Financial Services & Superannuation and Minister for Competition Policy & Consumer Affairs

5 March 2012 - 18 September 2013

Media Release of 01/08/2013


Appointment of an acting full-time State/Territory member of the Australian Energy Regulator

Joint media release with
Gary Gray MP
Minister for Resources and Energy
Minister for Small Business
Minister for Tourism

The Government has appointed Mr James Cox PSM as the acting State/Territory member of the Australian Energy Regulator (AER) for a 12 month period beginning on 9 September 2013. 

The AER has responsibility for the economic regulation of the National Electricity Market, as well as wholesale gas markets and pipelines in jurisdictions other than Western Australia and the Northern Territory.  The AER also enforces the National Energy Retail Law in South Australia, Tasmania, New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory.  

Mr Cox is currently a member and CEO of the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART) and has held this post since 2004.  Mr Cox has also been a member of IPART since 1996.  Mr Cox will resign this position on appointment to the AER.

The AER consists of two members nominated by the States and Territories and one member nominated by the Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission in accordance with the Australian Energy Market Agreement.

1 August 2013