28 July 2023

Charities Commission Advisory Board appointed

The Government is pleased to announce eight appointments to the Australian Charities and Not‑for‑profits (ACNC) Advisory Board.

The ACNC Advisory Board supports and advises the ACNC Commissioner.

Late last year, the Government sought applications from members of the charity sector to join the ACNC Advisory Board.

Following an open, transparent and merit-based process, the following appointments have been made to ACNC Advisory Board:

  • Ms Sarah Davies as the part-time Chair and general member;
  • Ms Heather Watson as the part-time Deputy Chair and general member; and
  • Ms Anna Bacik, Mr David Crosbie, Mr Ian Hamm, Ms Sara Harrup, Ms Rosina Loria and Dr Myles McGregor‑Lowndes OAM as part-time general members.

The new Board now has a majority of women and includes people from First Nations and culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.

These appointments reflect the diversity in the not-for-profits and will ensure Commissioner Sue Woodward is supported as she fulfils a new vision for the ACNC.

The Government thanks all those who applied, as well as the outgoing Advisory Board members who have made significant contributions over the years.