The Government has called an election and is now in caretaker. As this website is hosted by the Treasury, material released by Portfolio Ministers may not be available from this site. It may be available from the Minister’s personal website or the Liberal Party of Australia website, which are not funded by the Commonwealth of Australia.

9 December 2019

Appointment – Director – Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority

The Assistant Minister for Superannuation, Financial Services and Financial Technology, Senator the Hon Jane Hume, today announced that she has appointed Mr Will Hamilton as a part-time Director to the Financial Adviser Standards and Ethics Authority (FASEA) commencing 9 December 2019.

FASEA was established in April 2017 to set the education, training and ethical standards of licensed financial advisers in Australia. FASEA was declared as the standards body under the Corporations Act 2001 (the Act). Under this Act, FASEA is responsible for approving degrees or higher or equivalent qualifications and determining the bridging course requirements for existing advisers; approving foreign qualifications; approving and/or administering the exam; selecting an appropriate common term for provisional relevant providers; determining the continuous profession development (CPD) requirements in relation to licensees’ CPD years; determining the requirements for the professional year; and setting the Code of Ethics.

Mr Hamilton will bring to the Board experience in carrying on a financial services business. He is the Managing Director of Hamilton Wealth and was previously General Manager Wealth Services at NAB, Head of Private Wealth Management at Goldman Sachs JBWere, and Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Deutsche Securities Asia in Hong Kong. Mr Hamilton is also currently the Commonwealth representative on the Professional Standards Council, an appointment made by the former Minister for Revenue and Financial Services, the Hon Kelly O’Dwyer.

Mr Hamilton is joined on the Board by the Chair, Ms Catherine Walter AM, Mr Mark Brimble, Dr Simon Longstaff AO, Ms Carolyn Bond AO, Ms Elissa Freeman, Ms Deborah Kent, Ms Louise Lakomy, and Ms Catriona Lowe.

This appointment will continue the high level of skills and experience available to FASEA, to help ensure that the key sectors of our economy are effectively regulated.