27 May 2015

Appointment of part-time members to the Takeovers Panel


This media release announces the appointments of members of the Takeovers Panel. .

I am pleased to announce the appointments of members of the Takeovers Panel.

The purpose of the Panel is to provide a mechanism for peer review of takeovers activity, with the aim of being more efficient, less formal and more expeditious than the courts.  The functions and powers of the Panel are conferred by the Corporations Act 2001 and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission Act 2001.

The members appointed to the Panel are:

  • Ms Elizabeth Bryan AM
  • Mr Alex Cartel
  • Mr Peter Hay
  • Ms Tracey Horton
  • Mr Richard Hunt
  • Mr Jeremy Leibler   
  • Mr Ron Malek
  • Ms Sophia (Sophie) Mitchell           
  • Mr Anthony (Tony) Osmond
  • Ms Sharon Warburton         

All members have been appointed for three years.

These appointments will maintain the high level of skills and experience available to the Panel, ensuring that it has appropriately qualified members to deal with the range of complex issues which are raised in applications.

The panel now has 38 members (including the President), all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis.