13 December 2019

Appointment of Deputy President and members to Australian Competition Tribunal

The Morrison Government is pleased to announce the appointment of the Honourable Justice Michael O’Bryan as a part-time Deputy President and Ms Diana Eilert and Dr Jill Walker as part-time members of the Australian Competition Tribunal (the Tribunal), for a period of five years.

The Tribunal is an independent statutory tribunal that hears applications to review authorisation decisions of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) and decisions of the Treasurer or the ACCC on access to nationally significant monopoly infrastructure under the National Access Regime.

Justice O’Bryan was appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2019. He was admitted to practice as solicitor of the Supreme Court of Victoria in 1987. He practised as a solicitor in London between 1988 and 1990 in the field of European competition law and became a partner of the law firm Minter Ellison in 1992.  He was called to the Victorian Bar in 2002 and was appointed Senior Counsel in 2011. He has practiced in the areas of competition and consumer law, corporate law, class actions, administrative and constitutional law.

Ms Eilert is a professional non-executive director with extensive board and executive experience gained in a 25 year career across a variety of sectors. Ms Eilert is currently a Non-Executive Director of ASX listed companies Domain Holdings Australia Limited, Super Retail Group Limited, Elders and Navitas.

Dr Walker is a former Commissioner of the ACCC and former member of the Australian Competition Tribunal. She is currently a member of the New Zealand Commerce Commission and is an esteemed competition economist. She has extensive experience in the fields of trade practices and anti-trust economics.

The Government wishes to thank outgoing member Mr Rodney Shogren for his many years of service to the Tribunal and for significant contribution, particularly on energy regulatory matters.