7 July 2021

Appointments to the Reserve Bank of Australia Board

The Morrison Government has reappointed Dr Guy Debelle as the full‑time Deputy Governor of the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) for a further five‑year period commencing from 18 September 2021; and reappointed Professor Ian Harper AO as a part‑time member of the RBA Board for a further five‑year period commencing from 31 July 2021.

Dr Debelle has been the Deputy Governor of the RBA and Deputy Chair of the RBA Board since 2016 and has provided strong economic leadership, particularly in helping to steer the Board’s response to the COVID‑19 pandemic.

He is also Chair of the Reserve Bank's Risk Management and Investment Committees, and the Global Foreign Exchange Committee. Prior to serving as Deputy Governor, Dr Debelle was the Assistant Governor (Financial Markets) at the RBA.

He has also worked at the International Monetary Fund, the Bank for International Settlements, Australian Treasury and as a visiting professor in economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Professor Harper has been a member of the RBA Board since 2016 and has made a valuable contribution to the Board’s decision‑making in supporting the Australian economy.

He is Dean and Director of the Melbourne Business School and Co‑Dean of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne.

During the course of his career, Professor Harper has also been involved in important public policy development, including having chaired the Government’s Competition Policy Review from March 2014 to March 2015.

These reappointments maintain the high level of skills and experience of RBA Board members, and ensure that monetary policy continues to support Australia’s economic resilience and prosperity through the recovery phase of the COVID‑19 pandemic and beyond.