1 June 2023

New appointments to National Housing Finance and Investment Corporation

The Albanese Government has appointed Ms Carol Austin as the Chair and Mr Nigel Ray and the Hon Richard Wynne as members of the National Housing Finance and Investment Corporation (NHFIC) Board.

These appointments will continue the high level of skills and experience available to NHFIC – soon to be renamed Housing Australia - to deliver the Government’s significant new housing commitments. 

This includes commitments under the $10 billion Housing Australia Future Fund, alongside existing programs such as the Home Guarantee Scheme, Affordable Housing Bond Aggregator and National Housing Infrastructure Facility.  

Last year the Albanese Government widened the remit of the National Housing Infrastructure Facility, making up to $575 million available to invest in social and affordable rental homes.

The Albanese Government thanks Mr Phillip Barresi for his service to NHFIC, and Ms Teresa Dyson for acting as Chair of NHFIC since 31 March 2023.

Ms Austin has experience in the finance industry and extensive board experience.

Her career includes senior positions with Contango Asset Management, Rothschild Australia Asset Management, Commonwealth Funds Management, and the Reserve Bank of Australia.

She is currently Chair of the ACT Government Investment Advisory Board, and a director of NSW State Super, the Grattan Institute and Infoxchange. Her previous board roles include director of HSBC Bank Australia and guardian of the Future Fund.

The Hon Richard Wynne has over 12 years of experience as the Victorian Minister for Planning and Housing. During this time, he initiated significant changes to Victoria’s housing sector, including the innovative Big Housing Build. Prior to that, he was Lord Mayor of Melbourne and served as a Melbourne City Council member. 

Mr Ray has experience in infrastructure planning and financing, government, public policy, and public finance.

He was Executive Director at the World Bank, Executive Director of the Asia and Pacific Constituency at the International Monetary Fund, and a long serving Treasury official including as Deputy Secretary.