22 October 2021

Appointments - Members, Board of Taxation

The Morrison Government has appointed Ms Andrea Laing and Mr Anthony Klein as part‑time members of the Board of Taxation (the Board) for a three‑year period.

The Board was established in September 2000 as a non‑statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective to improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

Ms Laing has in-house extractive industry experience. She spent more than two decades working at Shell on tax issues, particularly indirect and employment taxes. She was formerly the Global Project Manager of Shell and prior to that was the Country Tax Lead of Shell. She has also worked at EY on indirect taxes and at the ATO on various tax issues.

Mr Klein has experience in corporate and international tax. He has more than two decades of experience working in the tax advisory space, most of which has been spent at Big Four accounting and advisory firm PwC. Over the years, he has helped entrepreneurs across Australia and the globe with getting their businesses off the ground and has been a tax advisor to some of the largest tech firms in Australia.

These appointments will continue the high level of skills and experience available to the Board.

Ms Laing’s appointment continues the Government’s strong record of identifying capable women for senior public sector roles.