25 June 2021

Appointments – part time members – Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation

The Morrison Government has reappointed Ms Elaine Collins and appointed Mr Jan van der Schalk as part-time board members of the Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation (ARPC) for a three-year period.

Following the terrorist events that occurred in the United States of America on 11 September 2001, the ARPC was established to help protect Australia’s economy from the global withdrawal of terrorism insurance for commercial property.

Ms Collins has 30 years’ experience in the insurance industry providing actuarial services to several insurers and is currently serving as a non-executive director of RT Health, Transport Health, ANZ LMI and Zurich Australia Insurance. Ms Collins has been a member of the ARPC since 2015.

Mr van der Schalk is an Investment Specialist with Platinum Asset Management. He has extensive and valuable experience in catastrophe reinsurance, including working as the CEO of IAG Reinsurance, and as Chief Underwriting Officer for Ace Tempest Reinsurance.

The appointments of Ms Collins and Mr van der Schalk will further strengthen the ARPC’s capacity to ensure a strong and stable economy and protect Australia’s economy in the event of a declared terrorist incident in Australia. Their appointments will also ensure the ARPC is well prepared to manage the recently announced reinsurance pool for cyclone and related flood damage.

Ms Collins’ reappointment also continues the Government’s strong record of identifying capable women for senior public sector roles.

The Government wishes to thank outgoing members Mr John Peberdy and Ms Janet Torney for their significant contribution to the ARPC over the past six years.