26 May 2023

Appointment - Chair - Tax Practitioners Board

The Albanese Government has appointed Mr Peter de Cure AM as the Chair to the Tax Practitioners Board (TPB) for a three-year period.

Mr de Cure is an experienced leader with extensive experience in the regulation of the tax practitioner industry, having been a member of the TPB since 2017.

Mr de Cure has been a Member of the Remuneration Tribunal of South Australia since 2020 and is currently the Chair of the South Australian Fire and Emergency Services Commission. He also has been the Chair and director for multiple directorships since 2007, including the Royal Flying Doctor Service (Central Operations), Accord Property Holdings and Gifford Hill.

The Government is committed to strengthening the TPB, which is the national body responsible for the registration and regulation of tax agents and BAS agents, and lifting standards for tax practitioners.

  • In the October Budget, we provided $30 million in additional funding for the TPB to target high risk practitioners.
  • We are implementing recommendations from the 2019 independent review of the TPB, with the first tranche of those recommendations currently before the Senate.
  • The second tranche of these reforms will go out for consultation in coming months.

The Government looks forward to working with Mr de Cure and the TPB as it implements these long overdue reforms. These changes will increase the TPB’s independence and strengthen its ability to respond to misconduct in the tax profession.

The Government thanks Mr Ian Klug AM for his significant contributions to the TPB over the past seven years as both Chair and member.