20 September 2022

YFYS Technical Working Group

Australian super fund members deserve the best possible returns on their contributions so they have the most comfortable possible retirement.

That’s why the Albanese Government tasked Treasury to review the Your Future, Your Super measures with a brief to make sure they are serving members’ long‑term interests.

Treasury is consulting widely as part of that review and the Government encourages anyone with views on the measures to make a submission.

In addition to public submissions and stakeholder consultations, the Government will establish a Technical Working Group to work alongside Treasury to evaluate the YFYS performance test.

The 12‑member Working Group is comprised of independent economists, academics, investment advisers and representatives from retail and not‑for‑profit super funds.

These knowledgeable and experienced industry participants will deliberate on increasing accountability for the performance of products which fall within the Your Future, Your Super measures.

The working group is expected to be a forum for constructive, solutions‑based discussions on specific technical issues relating to the performance test.

The Government thanks participants in the group for agreeing to take part and looks forward to their contributions toward strengthening the superannuation system for the benefit of working Australians.

Quotes attributable to Stephen Jones, Assistant Treasurer:

“We owe it to every super fund member to make sure their super contributions are working as hard as hard as they are.

“The experts who’ve agreed to be part of the Technical Working Group on the performance test will form an important part of Treasury’s considerations during the review process.

“The Government thanks them for their time and expertise, which they are offering on a voluntary basis and in the interests of strengthening the superannuation system.”

Working Group Members:

David Bell ‑ Conexus Institute

Dr Kevin Liu ‑ UNSW

Joey Moloney ‑ Grattan Institute

Matthew Griffith ‑ JANA Investment Advisers

Zachary May ‑ IFM Investors

Aidan Geysen ‑ Vanguard

Leigh Gavin ‑ Australian Super

Jacki Ellis ‑ Aware Super

Stanley Yeo ‑ Insignia Financial

Damian Lillicrap ‑ Australian Retirement Trust

David Knox ‑ Mercer

Fahmi Hosain ‑ Future Super