28 July 2023

Payments System Board appointments

The Albanese Government has appointed Dr Michelle Deaker and Professor Ross Buckley, and reappointed Ms Gina Cass‑Gottlieb as part‑time members to the Payments System Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia for five‑year terms.

Dr Deaker has over 20 years’ experience in the tech sector and has served on multiple boards. She is a managing partner at OneVentures, a venture capital firm that focuses on the healthcare and technology sectors.

Professor Buckley has experience advising the Asian Development Bank, as well as various government departments in Australia and Asia. He is currently a professor at UNSW where he specialises in fintech, central bank digital currencies and the Consumer Data Right.

Ms Cass‑Gottlieb is the current head of the Australian Consumer and Competition Commission. This will be her third term on the board.

These appointments will continue the high level of skills and experience available to the board that helps maintain a well‑functioning payments system and ensures that it is effectively regulated.

The Payments System Board was established in 1998 to direct payments system policy for the Reserve Bank of Australia.

The board is responsible for controlling risk, promoting the efficiency of the payments system, and promoting competition in the market for payments services, consistent with the overall stability of the financial system.