20 April 2023

Reserve Bank Board appointments

The Albanese Government has appointed Dr Iain Ross AO and Ms Elana Rubin AM as part‑time members of the Reserve Bank Board, each for a five‑year term. Dr Ross will commence on 7 May 2023 and Ms Rubin on 31 August 2023.

Dr Ross has a deep understanding of labour markets and economics. He has served as a former President of the Fair Work Commission, and Judge of the Federal Court and the Supreme Court of Victoria. His career experience includes Vice President of the Australian Industrial Relations Commission, Partner in the workplace relations practice group at Corrs Chambers Westgarth and Assistant Secretary of the ACTU.

Ms Rubin has over 20 years’ experience as a non‑executive company director across diverse sectors of the Australian economy, including roles in the financial services, insurance, infrastructure, professional services, and not‑for‑profit sectors. She is a Non‑Executive Director of ASX companies Dexus and Telstra, and is on the Board of several unlisted companies and Victorian Government authorities. She brings a small business perspective as Chair of the Australian Business Growth Fund and was previously Chair of Afterpay and AustralianSuper.

These appointments will continue the high level of skills and experience available to the Reserve Bank Board. They will help ensure the Board is well equipped both to deliver monetary policy in an increasingly complex and uncertain environment, and to implement the recommendations of the RBA Review.

The Government thanks outgoing members Dr Wendy Craik AM and Mr Mark Barnaba AM for their commitment and contributions to the Board.