7 October 2022

Treasurer's Investor Roundtable

Today I am establishing the Treasurer’s Investor Roundtable to identify and unlock investment opportunities in national priority areas.

The Investor Roundtable will bring together leaders from the investment community including from some of Australia’s largest superannuation funds, the major banks and global asset managers, to identify and overcome barriers to investment.

There is a massive opportunity in promoting greater investment in sectors that deliver both strong returns for investors and strong returns for our community.

Some of Australia’s largest investors are represented at the Roundtable, with more than $2 trillion under management by the superannuation funds and institutional investors alone.

The first Roundtable will be held in November, focusing on housing. The discussion will cover a range of topics including:

  • addressing barriers to investment within the housing sector;
  • improving revenue streams and investor confidence in the project pipeline to meet risk and return preferences; and
  • identifying partnership opportunities for government co‑investment.

Each roundtable will focus on a separate investment class of national importance, given each sector faces unique issues.

Future roundtables will examine topics including data and digitisation and clean energy.

The roundtables will include 20 core participants, plus additional attendees that bring relevant expertise to each focus area.

States and territories will be represented by the Chair of the Board of Treasurers, Andrew Barr, or another state or territory treasurer.

The Government is committed to working with investors to leverage greater private capital to build a stronger, broader and more sustainable economy.

Investor Roundtable core participants:

Raphael Arndt, Chief Executive Officer, Future Fund

Andrew Barr, Chair, Board of Treasurers

Debby Blakey, Chief Executive Officer, HESTA

Greg Combet, Chair, IFM Investors

Matt Comyn, Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Robyn Denholm, Operating Partner, Blackbird

Vicki Doyle, Chief Executive Officer, Rest Super

Shayne Elliott, Chief Executive Officer, ANZ

Andrew Fraser, Incoming Chair, Australian Retirement Trust

Peter King, Chief Executive Officer, Westpac

Andrew Landman, Head of Australasia, Blackrock

Ross McEwan, Chief Executive Officer, NAB

Renato Mota, Chief Executive Officer, Insignia Financial

John Pearce, Chief Investment Officer, UniSuper

Kelly Power, Chief Executive Officer, Colonial First State

Navleen Prasad, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Investment Council

Paul Schroder, Chief Executive Officer, AustralianSuper

Deanne Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, Aware Super

Wayne Swan, Chair, CBUS Super

Shemara Wikramanayake, Chief Executive Officer, Macquarie